You are here: Home » News » UFC » Tearing Down the Cage: Strikeforce – Henderson vs. Babalu 2

Tearing Down the Cage: Strikeforce – Henderson vs. Babalu 2

Enjoy this post? Please share the love...

Not to be outdone, Strikeforce hosted an action filled card that was featured live on Pay per View. Henderson versus Babalu 2 was a night filled with fighters swinging for the fences and teeth rattling knockouts.

Get On The List!

In the main event of the evening, MMA veteran and icon, Dan Henderson, notched another victory over Renato “Babalu” Sobral with a first round knockout. This fight was a “rematch” of a battle that occurred ten years earlier when the two combatants faced off against each other in the King of Kings 1999 tournament finals. Henderson came out of his corner throwing punches and looking for his patented right hook. Babalu was kept on the defensive and did a good job avoiding the blows. However, the end came when the former Strikeforce champ went for a takedown that was easily stuffed by Henderson. From that point, “Hendo” began to drop punches on his opponent that left him prone 1:53 into round one.

Paul Daley and Scott Smith were very vocal that someone was going to go to sleep in their welterweight matchup and that’s exactly what happened. The knockout artist from Britain needed 2:09 to put Smith away in their fight. Daley came out of his corner charging but Smith maintained composure and stung his opponent with jabs. A nice combination from Daley put Smith on the canvas, but he was quick to stand to his feet. Smith changed gears and came at his opponent but a sharp left hook stunned him in the process. It was this same blow that ended his night, as another shot sent him crumbling face first to the mat. Referee John McCarthy was forced to call an end to the bout before any more damage could occur.

“Ruthless” Robbie Lawler was just that as he stopped Matt Lindland cold in their featured contest. Both of these fighters are mixed martial arts veterans and were expected a stand up war. However, the battle was much faster than many people expected as Lawler needed only 0:50 seconds to knock Lindland out. Both fighters stood in the pocket and traded blows as Lawler looked to end the fight quickly. A right hook brought Lindland crashing to the floor. As he attempted to defend himself from further punishment, Lawler landed another punch that ended the Olympic silver medalist’s night. This is the second time the 40-year old Lindland has been knocked out in four months.

Antonio Silva needed a strong comeback in order to defeat his opponent Mike Kyle. In the first round, Kyle landed two stinging right hands that dropped Silva to the ground. Kyle jumped into position to try and end the fight, however Silva was able to recover half guard and effectively protect himself. Oddly enough, Kyle was determined to damage his opponent and landed two headbutts to Silva’s midsection but was quickly admonished by Referee McCarthy.

Silva turned the tables in the second round as he took his opponent down to the canvas. Silva transitioned to a dominate position and seemed to have an anaconda choke firmly locked in. However, Kyle was able to fight off the attack. Silva continued to push the action on the ground and used his Brazilian Jiu Jitsu skills to gain the full mount. From there, he dropped blow after blow onto Kyle and Referee McCarthy stopped the action at 2:49 in the second round.

Full Results
Dan Henderson defeated Renato Sobral by First Round Knockout (Punches – 1:53)
Paul Daley defeated Scott Smith by First Round Knockout (Punch – 2:09)
Robbie Lawler defeated Matt Lindland by First Round Knockout (Punch – 0:50)
Antonio Silva defeated Mike Kyle by Second Round Technical Knockout (Punches – 2:49)
Ovince St.Preux defeated Benji Radach by Unanimous Decision
Wayne Phillips defeated Fernando Bettega by Split Decision
Justin Lawrence defeated Max Martyniouk by Unanimous Technical Decision
Patrick Cummins defeated Terrell Brown by First Round Technical Knockout (Punches – 2:44)
Cortez Coleman defeated Lucas Lopes by First Round Submission (Guillotine Choke – 2:04)
Matt Ricehouse defeated Thomas Aaron by Unanimous Decision
Mike Glenn defeated Lee Brousseau by First Round Technical Knockout (Punches – 2:00)
Booker DeRousse defeated Coltin Cole by Second Round Technical Knockout (Punches – 3:04)
J.W. Wright defeated Josh Epps by First Round Submission (Guillotine Choke – 1:29)

About Raphael Garcia

Raphael Garcia has written 127 post in this blog.

If you enjoyed this post, make sure you subscribe to my RSS feed!
You can also follow The MMA Zone on Twitter here.

Similar Articles:

Related posts:

"Like what you read?"
Receive an update straight to your inbox every time I publish a new article. Your email address will never be shared

Category | UFC

Leave a Reply


Likebox Slider Pro for WordPress
Online Marketing Top 50 Martial Arts Topsites List